The Blame One Player Fallacy

OGKnickfan

Enlightened
One thing I have learned, from coaching basketball, is that even the most poorly skilled player, if he cooperates with your system, is an asset.

Sometimes, your most highly skilled player, if he alienates teammates, fails to get them involved, etc., is your worst player.

Right now, the Knicks don't seem to have a player that singlehandedly ruins games for everyone. Rather, we seem to be suffering from a lack of a competent big man. And, as a coach, I can tell you that a tough, intelligent big man is the most important thing in basketball: he can get you easy buckets, move the ball between the three point areas and the low post and elsewhere, save the team from easy layups by wing players, guarantee you get your boards, etc.

Still, people continue to look for a player to blame for our perpetual losing, be it Curry, Duhon, Crawford, Harrington, Jeffries, amongst others. Some of these players played center, sure, but it's up to a GM to obtain players that make it so these players aren't playing in the middle.

Currently, the punching bag is Duhon. Duhon, however, is just a distributor. We had Ward and Childs, both shot poorly from the field, which seems to be the main beef with Duhon, and were merely distributors. Still, for years, the Knicks were contenders.

So, when our team sucks as much as they do, for as long as it has, can all the blame simply be dumped on this one crappy player?

As during the Childs-Ward era, we could use a PG upgrade. However, as long as we continue to ignore our lack of a replacement for Patrick Ewing, i.e., a center that can block easy layup shots and score in the post, we will continue to suck.