Can Somebody Tell Me, In Their Opinion, How Good Sprewell Really Was?

RunningJumper

Super Moderator
Back in the 90s-early 2000s...I was 10-11, I don't remember, but you get the point.I didn't analyze players abilities.Infact I usually just watched the Knicks in the Playoffs.After about 2001 I didn't watch basketball much at all anymore until 2008.Then I started watching it a lot, even getting League Pass.Although I'm no basketball expertise, I have fairly decent knowledge of the game I'd say.

So anyway, whenever I look at a Sprewell video, whether it be a mix or clips, it seems like he was one of the most versatile players.He had so many moves.Was fast, exciting, etc.How good was his defense?Put him in the 2010 FA in his prime, would you consider him?

TR1LL10N

Hannibal Lecter
Extremely athletic slasher who could bust out 35 on any given night. Extremely good defender who loved to over play the passing lane for a steal leading to a fast break. Could dunk like a beast and had a decent jump shot. Sometimes used to bring up the ball and played SF most of the time.

TR1LL10N

Hannibal Lecter
Put him in the 2010 FA in his prime, would you consider him?

Yes at like 10-13 mil a year. He is not a #1 option but made for a solid #2 option and #1 defensive stopper. I would put him in an Artest caliber class of players.

clumsy

Rotation player
Actually i think a lot of credit has to go to Jeff Van Gundy on how Latrell played as a Knick.

Kiyaman

Legend
Actually i think a lot of credit has to go to Jeff Van Gundy on how Latrell played as a Knick.

u must not have seen Spree 40 point nights as a GS Warrior.
Spee brought the ENERGY better than any NBA player I ever seen.
On any given night Spree ENERGY had his teammates playing from their heart.
Spree had Ron Artest kicking over MSG computor monitors for winning a game where the Knicks were down by 20 in the 4th qtr.

CoolClyde

Spree

the most aggressive Knick ever, from offense to defense.